of the 20th to the 23rd Parliaments in the 1965 edition, p 65; of the 24th to the 26th Parliaments in the 1975 edition, p 132; and of the 27th to the 30th Parliaments in this edition, Table 3.1.

The Senate has grown from an original membership of 72 at Confederation, through the addition of members to represent new provinces and the general increase in population, to a total of 104 members; the latest change in representation was made on June 19, 1975 when an act of Parliament (SC 1974-75-76, c.53) amended the Canadian Constitution to entitle the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories to be represented by one senator each. The growth of representation in the Senate is summarized in Table 3.2.

Senators are appointed by the Governor General by instrument under the Great Seal of Canada. By constitutional usage the actual power of nominating senators resides in the Prime Minister whose advice the Governor General accepts in this regard. Until the passage of "An Act to make provision for the retirement of members of the Senate" (SC 1965, c.4), assented to on June 2, 1965, senators were appointed for life; that act set 75 years as the age at which any person appointed to the Senate after the coming into force of the act would cease to hold his place in the Senate.

In each of the four main areas of Canada (Ontario, Quebec, Atlantic provinces and western provinces) except Quebec, senators represent the whole of the province for which they are appointed; in Quebec, one senator is appointed for each of the 24 electoral divisions of what was formerly Lower Canada. The deliberations of the Senate are presided over by a Speaker appointed by the Governor in Council (in effect by the government) and government business in the Senate is sponsored by the Government Leader in the Senate.

The Senate retains its traditional role in respect of legislation originating in the House of Commons, namely, to take a "sober second look" at such legislation and amend it if necessary; such amendments are often concurred in by the House of Commons. If representatives of the two Houses cannot resolve disagreements arising from Senate amendments, the legislation cannot be further considered.

The Senate provides a national forum for the discussion of public issues and the airing of grievances from any part of Canada. Through its own committees and its participation in joint committees of both Houses the Senate is particularly active in making studies in depth on matters of public concern.

Since 1971, Senate committees have been performing a new function, that of studying the subject-matter of government bills, including "money bills", in advance of their formal introduction in the Senate. Under this procedure, amendments to a bill suggested by a Senate committee are often accepted by the government and by the House of Commons before the bill itself actually reaches the Senate.

In January 1977 the representation in the Senate was as follows:

Newfoundland Eric Cook Chesley William Carter James Duggan William John Petten Frederick William Rowe Prince Edward Island Florence Elsie Inman Orville Howard Phillips M. Lorne Bonnell 2 vacancies Nova Scotia Donald Smith Harold Connolly John Michael Macdonald Margaret Norrie

Henry D. Hicks Bernard Alasdair Graham Augustus Irvine Barrow Ernest George Cottreau George Isaac Smith 1 vacancy

New Brunswick
George Percival Burchill
Fred A. McGrand
Edgar Fournier
Charles Robert McElman
Hervé J. Michaud
Michel Fournier
Louis-J. Robichaud
Daniel Riley
2 vacancies